Acknowledgements

We would like to express our cordial thanks to all who helped make this conference a success. We have much pleasure in thanking several organizations, in particular: the Senate of the Parliament of the Czech Republic, and especially its Committee on Education, Science, Culture, Human Rights and Petitions; the Czech Academy of Sciences and its Institute of Physics; the Czech Philharmonic Orchestra; National House of Vinohrady; the Archbishopric of Prague; and the Metropolitan Chapter of the Saint Vitus Cathedral for their support and very efficient help during the conference.

Several persons from these institutions deserve special recognition due to their role in the success of the FQMT'17 conference:

First of all, we are very grateful to Jiří Drahoš (former President of the Academy of Sciences), Eva Zažímalová (President of the Academy of Sciences) Jan Šafanda (member of the Academy Council of the Academy of Sciences), and Pavel Vlasák (member of the Council for Sciences of the Academy of Sciences) for their support of the conference.

Jan Řídký (former Director of the Institute of Physics of the Academy of Sciences) and Michael Prouza (Director of the Institute of Physics of the Academy of Sciences) helped with the organization of the conference from the very beginning till the very end. The support of Jiří J. Mareš (Deputy Director and Head of the Department of Semiconductors of the Institute of Physics), and the efficient assistance of members of his department both before and during the conference, who helped solve many problems smoothly and essentially contributed to the excellent level of the conference. We also thank Ivana Heřmanská (solicitor of the Institute of Physics) for her support of the conference and help with the conference agenda. Our thanks extend to the accountant of the Institute of Physics of the Academy of Sciences, Miroslav Hořejší, for his help with the conference finances. We also appreciate the technical assistance of Martin Faltys, Vojtěch Kadlec, and Petr Žežulka of the Institute of Physics.

We appreciate very much the auspices and support of the President of the Czech Republic, Miloš Zeman.

We would like to express our very special thanks to the Senate of the Parliament of the Czech Republic, first of all to its President, Milan Štěch, and the chairperson of its Committee on Education, Science, Culture, Human Rights and Petitions. We are very thankful for the help of Jana Hauserová (Secretary of the Committee on Education, Science, Culture, Human Rights and Petitions of the Senate) and her assistant, Hana Borodáčová, of Jaroslav Müllner (Director of the Secretariat of the President of the Senate) and of Valérie Ciprová and Kateřina Tomášová (Department of the Protocol of the Senate).

We wish also to thank some other institutions and their staff who contributed to the excellent level of all the social events: Dominik Cardinal Duka (Archbishop of Prague), Vojtěch Mátl, sister Dominika Bohušová (Archbishopric of Prague), Ondřej Pávek (Dean of the Metropolitan Chapter), Václav Soukup (Secretary Dean of the Metropolitan Chapter) Damián Faber and Jan Bumbálek (Managers of the Saint Vitus Cathedral), Ivo Velíšek (Director of the Prague Castle Administration), David Mareček (Director of the Czech

Philharmonic Orchestra), Alena Špačková (Czech Philharmonic Orchestra), Jan Hartman (National House of Vinohrady) Father Prokop Siostrzonek (Prior of Břevnov Monastery), Brother Aleš Zdeněk Vandrovec (vice-abbot of Břevnov Monastery), Brother Václav Snětina, Brother Vladimír Šulc and Iva Kuchařová (Břevnov Monastery).

The organizers are particularly grateful to all the musicians who contributed to extraordinary enjoyment of the participants and their guests during all four conference concerts: Iva Fleischhansová-Butler, Jiří Hlaváč, Luboš Hucek, Tomáš Jindra, Miroslav Kejmar, Josef Kšica, Přemysl Kšica, Martin Misár, Hana Müllerová, Jindra Nečasová Nardelli, Jan Thuri, Tomáš Víšek, and the Ars Instrumentalis Pragensis ensemble (Luboš Hucek, Josef Kšica, Pavel Nejtek, Liběna Séquardtová, and Ivan Séquardt)

The organizers gladly acknowledge also many other local people who helped out with the organization which ensured that at all instances the formal steps went smoothly, which was already visible by how remarkably smooth registration proceeded. The involved people were: Michal Čech, Jiří Dejl, Filip Dominec, Bohuslav Drahoš, Markéta Dušková, Lenka Krejčová, Jan Kšica, Pavel Kšica, Markéta Pokorná, Václav Pokorný, Jan Rubín, David Staněk, Vladimír Svoboda, Jitka Svobodová, Krištof Tulis, Lucie Vaňová, and Pavla Vinopalová.

We are very grateful to the staff of the Pyramida Hotel, the seat of the Conference, and especially to Ludmila Koutská (Director of the Hotel), Jindra Fišerová, Martina Hrdličková, Ludmila Křehlová, and Jiří Vápeník for creating hospitable atmosphere during the whole conference and very good services.

We further wish to extend a big thank you to our excellent guides, Pavel Černý, Renata Heroldová, and Dagmar Caklová, Alice Lamb, who, together with Jan Cibulka of Prague Public Transport Co., contributed to our wonderfully successful guided tours. We also acknowledge Veronika Moudrá of the non-profit organisation Borůvka Praha for a bountiful supply of beautiful conference bags.

Our very special thanks go to: Anton Zeilinger and John Pendry, who so graciously accepted our invitation to participate at the FQMT'17. Their evening lectures were scientifically enlightening and were immensely enjoyed by all the participants and their guests.

Last, but not least, we would like to thank all chairmen of the respective sessions and all members of the Scientific and the Organizing committees, in particular Roger Balian. Without their tireless efforts the conference would not have been possible.

Peter D. Keefe, Theo M. Nieuwenhuizen, and Václav Špička