## Acknowledgements

We have much pleasure in thanking several organizations, in particular: Senate of the Parliament of the Czech Republic, and especially its Committee on Education, Science, Culture, Human Rights and Petitions, Academy of Sciences of the Czech Republic and its Institute of Physics, Charles University, its Faculty of Mathematics and Physics and its Institute of Physics for their support and the very efficient help during the conference.

Several persons from these institutions deserve special recognition due to their role in the rise of the FQMT'04 conference. We are grateful to Vladimír Sechovský (chair of the CMD20 conference) and Bedřich Velický (chair of the programme committee of the CMD20 conference) of Charles University for their support and the idea that FQMT'04 could be the satellite conference of the 20th General Conference of the Condensed Matter Division of the European Physical Society (CMD20), Helena Illnerová (the then President of the Academy of Sciences) and Vladimír Nekvasil (the then Vice-President of the Academy of Sciences) for their support of this idea. Karel Jungwirth (the Director of the Institute of Physics of Academy of Sciences) helped with the organization of the conference from the very beginning till the very end. The organizers thank him also for the generous financial support of the Czech participants of the FQMT'04 provided by the Institute of Physics which helped to cover the conference expenses. The support of Jozef Krištofik, Head of the Department of Semiconductors of the Institute of Physics, and efficient assistance of members of his department with preparation of the conference and during the conference helped to solve many problems smoothly and essentially contributed to the excellent level of the conference. Our thanks belong especially to Karla Kuldová, Jiří J. Mareš, and Jarmila Šidáková.

We would also like to express our very special thanks to some other people who helped make this conference a success. First of all, we are very grateful to the then President of the Senate, Petr Pithart, and his advisor Jaroslav Veis. Our special thanks go also to Marta Hubová (Secretary of the Committee on Education, Science, Culture, Human Rights and Petitions of the Senate), František Hodík (Head of the ICT Department of the Senate) and Dana Strnadová from the Senate for their support and help with the preparation of the conference and efficient technical assistance during the conference. The assistance of Petr Kostka and Květa Kozáková (Press and Documentation Department of the Senate), Božena Matoulková and Monika Muchová from the Academy of Sciences was very helpful as for the preparation of the press conference. The interpreters Jan Gabriel and Jiří Rameš (Institute of Physics) contributed essentially to the fluency and success of the press conference. We acknowledge the accountant of the Institute of Physics of the Academy of Sciences, Eva Lhotáková, for her help with the conference finances, its continuous check and especially for her help and her patience when dealing with the new Czech tax system (which passed through the Czech parliament just during the preparation of the conference) and changes related to the entrance of the Czech Republic to EU. We thank Vladimír Baumruk, the Head of the Institute of Physics of Charles University, for his opening speech devoted to the late Vladislav Cápek, and Ivan Barvík of this Institute for his continuous support of the conference and help with the preparation of the session devoted to Vladislav Čápek.

The organizers gladly acknowledge also many other local people who helped out with the organization. This ensured that at all instances the formal steps went smoothly. It was already visible at the registration which was remarkably fluent. The involved people were first of all the students: Michal Fanta, Radek

Macháň, Evžen Šubrt, Karolína Vyskočilová and further Martin Faltys (Institute of Physics), Olga Holá and Vladimíra Pátková (Masaryk Residence Halls), Aneta Putírková (Diplomat hotel).

Last, but not least, we would like to thank all members of the Scientific and the Organizing committees. Without their great efforts the conference would not be possible.

Theo M. Nieuwenhuizen, Peter D. Keefe, Václav Špička